At the end of the day, what matters most?

Image Copyright (c) 2011 J. L. FleckensteinBenjamin Franklin said, “The use of money is all the advantage there is in having it.” Indeed, money is as valuable to you as it assists you in creating your ideal life. Money is not the end goal, it is merely something that helps you reach your real goals.

Over the years, I have discovered that to provide the best service, I have to find out from my clients a piece of information only they possess: what matters most to him or her. My job is to comfortably draw out of my clients what their goals are, and integrate those goals with my own expertise to help them get results.

The simplicity of it is, people have life goals they hope to have the financial resources to achieve. If all I do is ask you about your financial goals, the conversation falls into terminology you might not easily relate to. This would be similar to a travel agent asking you how many times you want to travel instead of asking you where you want to go.

I am committed to taking into account important life circumstances when giving financial advice. I personally believe this is the most relevant, helpful approach and is most valued by my clients. I think of the work I do, the advice I give, as holistic wealthcare.

To accomplish this, I find it is more helpful to ask good questions than it is to find answers to typical, rote financial questions. If I ask you the right questions, it will help you discover your own answers, solutions, and resources. In other words, asking the right questions leads to some great brainstorming and real “a-ha!” moments.

A perfect example of this is a home-bound elderly client of mine. She was at risk of running out of money if she continued gifting too much of it to her adult son. I asked her the right questions that led to a realistic assessment of her resources, needs, and preferences for care, comfort, and peace-of-mind.

Then I asked what she wished most to do for her son. She said she always wanted to help him. So, I asked what she felt would help him the most. She paused to consider, then realized what he really needed was a budget.

Moving from discovery to taking the right actions all I had to do was ask her what it would take to make that happen. She had the answers, I just had to help guide her through the right questions to get there.

Would you like to have a CPA and financial planner who really cares about your goals, listens attentively and knows how to ask the right, thought-provoking questions? Would you like some help in getting to the bottom of what matters most to you? Do you want to work with someone who has a broad range of financial and business expertise to help you best utilize your financial resources and achieve your goals?

If so, call us today at (707) 524-8130 or (415) 353-5680.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

